American Oriental Society Medal of Merit Recipients

The American Oriental Society awards the Medal of Merit from time to time to exceptionally distinguished scholars for their contributions to scholarship in Oriental studies and for their dedicated service to the Society. The AOS Medal of Merit Committee, composed of the three most recent Presidents of the Society, elects recipients of the award.

1. † Franz Rosenthal 1994 (Professor Emeritus, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Literatures, Yale University: Arabic and Semitics. 1914-2003)

2. † Hans Gustav Güterbock 1996 (Tiffany and Margaret Blake Distinguished Service Professor of Hittitology, Oriental Institute, University of Chicago. 1908-2000)

3. † Denis Sinor 1999 (Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Department of Central Eurasian Studies, Uralic and Altaic Studies, Indiana University, Bloomington 1916-2011)

4. † Murray Emeneau 2000 (Professor Emeritus, Linguistics, University of California, Berkeley: Sanskrit, Indic folklore and linguistics. 1904-2005)

5. † Erica Reiner 2002 (John A. Wilson Distinguished Service Professor of Assyriology, Emerita, Oriental Institute, University of Chicago. 1924-2005)