Awards, Prizes, or Honors Bestowed on AOS Members

The American Council of Learned Societies is pleased to announce the results of the first annual competitions of the new Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Program in Buddhist Studies. The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Collaborative Research Grants in Buddhist Studies were awarded to among others: Jason E. Neelis (Wilfrid Laurier University) for Buddhist Rebirth Narratives in Literary and Visual Cultures of Gandhara.

University of Chicago to bestow seven honorary degrees at 519th Convocation: Among them, John Huehnergard, a widely admired scholar of Semitic languages and linguistics, historical linguistics, writing systems and ancient Near Eastern history, will receive a Doctor of Humane Letters. - See more at:

Evo ṣuyadi: Essays in Honor of Richard Salomon’s 65th Birthday. Bulletin of the Asia Institute 23 (2013) (Table of Contents)‎

ACLS Fellowship Recipients 2011 (Posted 05/24/2011):

The American Council of Learned Societies is very pleased to announce the 2011 cohort of ACLS fellowship recipients who are members of the American Oriental Society:

Anthony Cerulli / ACLS Fellowship
Assistant Professor, Religious Studies, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Medical Narratives and Allegorical Bodies in Indian Medical Literature

Sara J. Milstein / ACLS New Faculty Fellows Program
New Faculty Fellow, Jewish Studies, Rutgers University, New Brunswick
Reworking Ancient Texts: Revision through Introduction in Biblical and Mesopotamian Literature

Karen Sonik / ACLS New Faculty Fellows Program
New Faculty Fellow, Art History, University of California, Los Angeles
Daimon-Haunted Universe: Conceptions of the Supernatural in Mesopotamia

For an overview of all ACLS fellowship recipients, please refer to the ACLS website:

James McGrath Awarded National Endowment for the Humanities Grant

American Council of Learned Societies Announces Fellowship Awardees from the Membership of the AOS

Joshua T. Katz, Department of Classics, Princeton University, is a recipient of a 2010 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship for “Wordplay: a chapter in the history of ideas”.
   Guggenheim Fellowship Awards, 2010

Rodgers receives Partington Award 2009

Romila Thapar Named Recipient of 2008 Kluge Prize for Study of Humanity

Rahul Peter Das was awarded the “Hind Rattan Award” of the NRI Welfare Society of India in New Delhi on January 25, 2006. For further information on the nature of the award, see <>.

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships to Assist Research and Artistic Creation awarded to AOS members to Böwering, Huehnergard, and Veldhuis

Romila Thapar Named as First Holder of the Kluge Chair in Countries and Cultures of the South at Library of Congress

David C. Reisman's Dissertation wins Yale's William J. Horwitz Prize

Miguel Civil Awarded Honorary Degree from the University of Barcelona (Photo)

Jean Bottéro, AOS Honorary Member, Proclaimed Chevalier in the French Order of the Legion d'Honneur

Rahul Peter Das Student Awarded Deutsche Morgenländische Gesellschaft Forschungspreis 1998

David Ayalon Elected Honorary Foreign Member of the American Historical Association

Alan Kaye California State University Fullerton Distinguished Faculty Award