>> Richard D. Woods Award

The Richard D. Woods Award is named after the researcher and educator, whose contributions to the development of soil dynamics and geophysical methods have long-lasting impact on the practice of civil engineering, and who educated students at the University of Michigan between the 1960's and the early 2000's.  This award was established at the University of Michigan in 2009.

The Award will be bestowed upon a first-year Graduate Student in Geotechnical Engineering who distinguished himself (herself) with academic excellence, and creativity in research, or exceptional leadership.

Selection criteria: the awardee will be enrolled in the Master's or Ph.D. program in Geotechnical Engineering for two full semesters, with no fewer than 12 credits per semester, prior to receiving the award.

The Award is administered by the Geotechnical Engineering Group of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, U-M, and the recipient will be selected from among the candidates during the Group meeting at the conclusion of the winter term. It is anticipated that one recipient will be selected yearly (unless there are more exceptional candidates), and the award ceremony will take place at the commencement of the following fall term. The Awardee will receive a certificate commemorating the year of award.

The recipients of the Award are:

2010 Richard D. Woods Award: 2011 Richard D. Woods Award:
Andhika Sahadewa

GeoWorld Profile

Kimberly Lamote

GeoWorld Profile

2012 Richard D. Woods Award: 2013 Richard D. Woods Award:
Fei Xunchang

GeoWorld Profile

Josh Colley

GeoWorld Profile

  Geotechnical Group History
  G-I Graduate Student Organization
  Geotechnical Seminar Series
  Sample Research Projects
  Richard D. Woods Award
  Industry Partnerships
  Financial Assistance
  CEE Department