In this life we see so many different people; some are prettier than
others, some live longer than others, etc. What is the cause of such
imbalances? The answer to that question is karmas. Karmas are grouped
into two groups; 1) Ghati (Destructive) karmas and 2) Aghati karmas
(Non- destructive). Ghati karmas obstruct the true nature of the soul
while Aghati Karmas affect the body in which the soul resides. As long
as we have Aghati karmas, our souls will be caged in some kind of body
and we will have to experience pain, and suffering in many different
forms. Only pure souls, Siddhas are formless and experience ultimate
bliss. We should all strive for this stage.

The Aghati Karmas are:
1)   Vedniya - Feeling-Producing Karma
2)   Nam - Body-determining Karma
3)   Gotra - Status-determining Karma
4)   Ayushya - Age-Determining Karma

1)   Vedniya (Feeling producing) Karma
Vedniya Karma is responsible for all the pleasure and pain we feel.
Some of the effects of Vedniya Karma are good health, happiness,
sickness, sorrow, etc.

Vedniya Karma is divided into two sub-types:
1)   Ashata (unhappiness causing) Vedniya
2)   Shata (Happiness causing) Vedniya

Ashata Vedniya Karma is built by causing pain to others, harassing
others, killing others, causing others to worry, and by making others
miserable.  Shata Vedniya Karma is built by making others happy,
helping others, giving others protection and peace, and sharing with
and comforting others.

Vedniya Karma can be shed by offering comfort, kindness, help,
protection, and peace to others.

When we rid ourselves of Vedniya Karma our souls attains infinite bliss.
 The pure soul has no disease, pain, sorrow, boredom, or uneasiness and
is ever blissful.

2)   Nam (Body determining) Karma
Nam Karma determines what type of body the soul will have, and what it
will look like.

Nam Karma is divided into one hundred and three sub-types. The major
groups are:
1)   Gati (Existence determining) Nam Karmas
2)   Jatinam (Number of senses determining) Nam Karmas
3)   Sharir (Body determining) Nam Karmas
4)   Angopanga (Chief and parts of bodies determining) Nam Karmas
5)   Samhanan (Firmness of Joints determining) Nam Karmas
6)   Samsthan (Figure determining) Nam Karmas
7)   Bandhan (Different bodies binding) Nam Karmas
8)   Samghatana (Different pudgals of bodies binding) Nam Karmas
9)   Varna (color determining) Nam Karma
10) Gnadha (Odor determining) Nam Karma
11) Ras (Taste determining) Nam Karma
12) Sparsha (Touch determining) Nam Karma
13) Anupoorvi (Direction determining) Nam Karma
14) Vihayogati (Movement determining) Nam Karma
15) Tirthankar (To be Tirthankar determining) Nam Karma
16) Shubh  Nam Karma
17) Ashubh Nam Karma

Some effects of Nam Karma are beauty, ugliness, good fortune,
misfortune, prosperity, adversity; honor, and dishonor. One may be born
as a dev, human, bird, animal, a plant, or hellish beings on account of
Nam Karma.

On hundred and three sub-types of Nam Karma are also grouped in two
broad groups:
1)   Shubh (good) Nam Karma.
2)  Ashubh (bad) Nam Karma.

Shubh Karma is acquired by being kind to all people, being gentle and
helpful, maintaining good conduct, and leading a simple life. Those who
strictly follow the discipline and rules of religion earn Dev-gati Nam
karma. Those who are charitable, merciful and perform religious
activities earn Manushya Nam Karma. Those who acquire Tirthankar Nam
Karma become Tirthankars in life after next.

Ashubh karma is acquired by making fun of people who are ugly or short
or by showing off  our build.  Being proud of physical beauty, power,
caste, intelligence, knowledge, and wealth also build Ashubh Nam karma.
Those who cheat and deceive others earn Tiryanch Nam Karma.

Those who are violent and kill others earn Hellish Nam Karma.

Nam Karma can be shed by always being kind, loving, generous, and
patient and by admiring those who are beautiful and those who are not.
The observance of purity also helps to shed Ashubh Nam karma.

When we rid ourselves of Nam Karma, our souls become Arupi.  In this
state the soul is freed from its body and becomes formless.

3)   Gotra (Status determining) Karma
Gotra Karma determines your social and economical status.  There are two
sub-types of Gotra Karma:
1)  Nichcha (Lower status determining) Gotra Karma
2)  Uchcha (Higher status determining) Gotra Karma

Nichcha Gotra Karma causes you to be low and poor in society.  Uchcha
Gotra Karma causes you to be high, well respected and wealthy in

Nichcha Gotra Karma is built by disrespecting people, being egoistic and
proud, and making fun of others.  Uchcha Gotra Karma is built by having
devotion and faith in the Jain Sangh, not looking down upon anyone,
being free from pride, respecting and honoring all, and treating
everyone with love.

Gotra Karma can be shed by being respectful towards those who have
status and towards those who do not.

Once our Gotra Karma is shed, our souls become Agurulaghu.

4)   Ayushya (Age Determining) Karma
Ayushya Karma decides your life span. Ayushya karma may be shortened
somewhat, but can not be prolonged. The Ayushya karma for the next life
is decided only once in each life time; specifically, when two thirds
of your current life has passed. If it is not decided during the next
two thirds of your remaining life time. For example let us assume that
you were live 99 years then your Ayushya karma will be decided when you
pass 66 years. If it was not decided by then, Ayushya karma will be
decided when next 22 years were passed and so on. Ayushya karma will
not be acquired if the soul  is going to be liberated in the current
life. There are four sub-types of Ayushya Karma:
Narak (Infernal) Ayushya Karma
Tiryancha (Animal) Ayushya Karma
Manushya (Human) Ayushya Karma
Dev (Celestial) Ayushya Karma

Depending upon its effects, some may live short lives while others may
live longer.
Ayushya Karma is built by engaging in violent activities and taking the
lives of others.

Ayushya Karma can be shed by showing compassion towards everybody.

Once all of our Ayushya Karma has been shed, our souls attain
Akshaysthiti. In this state the soul becomes immortal and is never

Back to Chapters List.
Back to the Home Page.